Path of the Rider Pt.1 – 2008

Written FEB 8 2011 #Reblog

The rules of road Karma are not to be trifled with, and this afternoon I found myself riding up a hill when my engine started spluttering, out of petrol.

When you have to push a 180 kilo+ motorbike over a mile up-hill you do start to question why you chose to go down the two wheel path.

I can’t believe it's been over three years.

Part One: Three years earlier

I was standing wedged-in on a rush hour Bakerloo line train amongst the other cattle known as London Underground commuters. The train pulled into a crowded platform at Baker Street, the hot stale air escaping as the doors opened.

Now clearly there was no room on the train, we knew it, and the people on the platform knew it, but one guy had a glimmer of determination in his eyes. He sized up the non-existent space, as though working on a difficult puzzle, and then flung himself into the carriage, burying himself among the suits, ties and newspapers.

I couldn’t help myself. I cracked up laughing.

It was around this time that I came to the realisation that I was paying a lot of money every week, for the privilege of standing for a prolonged amount of time in another person’s armpit. What a way to start your day. I just couldn’t see the reasoning behind it anymore.

Me and the London Underground were through.

I’d always had a fascination with motorbikes ever since watching the anime Akira, the brake light streaks screaming through Neo-Tokyo, and Kaneda’s bike;

‘Twin ceramic rotor drives on each wheel! And these look like computer controlled anti-lock brakes! Wow, 200 horses at 12,000 rpm!’

I had a few mates who swore by scooters: They were ridiculously cheap to run, one of the fastest ways to get around London, and a shit load of fun.

I bit the bullet, did my CBT (compulsory bike training), got my L-plates, and got myself the biggest scooter I could find

Piaggio B125

This was a big old unit and was affectionately named “Lil Tractor” as it sounded just like one, once you managed to get it started. I bought it second hand with the knowledge that Dani Behr once sat on the back, the babe magnet that it was, having only one mirror and cracked plastics all over.

We had some good times me and Lil Tractor, and it always looked after me despite me crashing it numerous times.

It was here I learned my road craft. Filtering and dodging the cars.

Most memorable moment

A handful of front brake and the bike dropping and hitting the curb. I’m still skidding down the road on my hands and knees at around 30mph through a zebra crossing with people waiting to cross. They then cross the road after I’ve passed the white lines and come to a stop on my back.

To be continued…

⇨ Path of the Rider Pt.2 – 2009

⇨ Path of the Rider Pt.3 – 2010

I decided to reblog this series as they were posted a while ago on another platform and got no love and of course no XRP.

To whet your appetite for this series of posts below Coil Subscribers will find a helmet cam vid of my commute to work before I left London.

Me zipping around on my Ducati in London before I became a Dad. I had big balls then.. or no brains.. I can't decide now. But looking back now I squirm, especially at 9mins in. WHAT WAS I THINKING ! I did this 5 days a week twice daily.

I've done no fancy editing.. no music.. just getting on and off the bike and a little bit inbetween.

Have fun

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=352161998231831877